Local Pastoral Area

St. Alban’s Pastoral Area is comprised of the six parishes listed below as a geographical area of the Shrewsbury Diocese which, since 2007, has been arranged into 26 Pastoral Areas. Our area is LPA 7, comprising –

  • Bollington, St. Gregory’s
  • Congleton, St. Mary
  • Whaley Bridge, Sacred Heart
  • Macclesfield, St. Alban’s
  • Macclesfield, St. Edward’s
  • Poynton, St. Paul’s

This arrangement functions through a Pastoral Area Team, consisting of the Parish Priest and an elected representative from each parish, a deacon elected by his colleagues and a teacher and a catechist appointed by the Bishop.

The role of each Pastoral Area Team is to support its constituent parishes in the changed and changing circumstances that they are facing now and will continue to face in the future. In his initial address to Pastoral Area Teams in 2007 Bishop Brian’s hope was that they would work to create effective structures for co-operation on pastoral and catechetical matters and that each LPA would increasingly become a community of communities.

The Pastoral Area Team members are committed to work together in a spirit of charity, understanding and sensitivity, sharing all resources to build, develop and support the wider community, in order to provide for the liturgical, sacramental, pastoral, spiritual and social needs of all people within the Local Pastoral Area.

The LPA organise study days, joint services and social occasions, talks about various aspects of our Faith in all the Parishes in turn for anyone in the LPA and many opportunities for training and development of Catechists.

For further information please contact the Parish Office.